Abbesi Akhamie, Melissa Adeyemo and Lala Akindoju's film 'Still Water Runs Deep' Set to Premiere at Toronto International Film Festival

Independent producers, Melissa Adeyemo, Abbesi Akhamie and Lala Akindoju are set to premiere their latest short film, Still Water Runs Deep, at the 2017 Toronto International Film Festival. The film is written and directed by Akhamie, a New York University Tisch Graduate student.

Still Water Runs Deep is the story of a father who must withstand his emotions and preserve his pride when his estranged son goes missing. 

Led by veteran theater and film actor, Toyin Oshinaike, as well as Rita Edward
and Yemi Adebiyi, the film speaks to the difficulty that honest, hardworking men face when trying to raise children in the harsh realities of the world.

Lala Akindoju, who is also the casting director of the new project, confirmed that taking the film to this year’s Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) provides an opportunity to open it to a global audience while also presenting an emotional story that is brilliantly executed by talented actors.

This film which was officially selected in the shorts category at the Toronto International Film Festival represents a collaboration of different creative and powerful women in film globally, including Abbesi Akhamie, Melissa Adeyemo, and Lala Akindoju.

Watch trailer here

About Kemi Lala Akindoju

Kemi Lala Akindoju is a World Economic Forum Global Shaper, thespian, producer and drama teacher. The Youngest person to ever produce the international play V. Monologues Lala Akindoju cut her teeth as a stage actor appearing in over 80 productions since 2005. 

Lala is a talent scout who has created several new stars with her Open Mic Theatre and has professionally consulted for MTV, Ndani TV, amongst others in the area of talent. She has also consulted for several art projects with the British Council, the iRep film Festival, Woman rising festival amongst others. 

In 2010 she won the award for Actor of the Year at The Future Awards Africa and was recently selected for the International Visitors Leadership programme by the United States Public Affairs Section. In 2016, she won the Trailblazer of the Year award at the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards.