INEC Declares Dickson Winner Of Bayelsa Guber Poll

The incumbent and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson, has been declared the winner of the governorship supplementary poll in Bayelsa State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
This follows his victory in the controversial Southern Ijaw Local Government Area.
Dickson defeated his arch-rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Timipre Sylva, by a margin of about 13,000 votes in the re-run.

While Sylva scored 10,216 votes, Dickson had 23,081 votes.
Election could not hold in the local government area during the initial poll on December 5, 2015 because of violence.

However, in announcing the final results for the state Sunday evening, Professor Zana Akpagu, the INEC Returning Officer, said the APC had scored 86, 852 votes while the PDP scored a total of 134, 998 votes and subsequently declared PDP winner of the election.
He said a total of 232, 167 votes had been cast in the election.